Tour de France Prologue 2010 | Brussels Sports Photographer

You’re going to kill me, but you’ll just have to wait a little bit longer for my recap of our exciting VIP experience. I’ve got A TON of photos to go through, including alot of photos left from our recent trip to Ukraine and Poland. I’ll be writing more about that soon as well.

Andy Schleck during the Prologue of the Tour de France 2010 in Rotterdam, NL

Andy Schleck during the Prologue of the Tour de France 2010 in Rotterdam, NL.

For now, let’s start at the beginning of our 3 days of Tour de France madness. We headed to Rotterdam, about an hour and a half from Brussels, to watch the Prologue of the Tour on Saturday. This is basically just a time trial, with each cyclist taking their turn to do a 9 km (5.5 miles) loop through the city. We staked out our spot a good 4 hours before the start. A sidenote about that: I can’t believe we saw almost all of the spring classics last year without owning any chairs! Sitting on the side of the road all day is much better with chairs. Duh.

Eduard Vorganov with Team Katusha at the Tour de France Prologue 2010 in Rotterdam, NL.

Eduard Vorganov with Team Katusha.

There’s not a whole lot to say about the Prologue really, except it was a good opportunity to see them each perform individually, and they go really, really fast. It’s kind of like a warm up, and I treated it as such for myself since I find cycling photography really challenging. A huge crowd turned out despite the rain, and it was fun to see Rotterdam all dressed in their oranje, still high on their World Cup win. We missed absolutely everything the caravan tossed our way, except for a very practical Tour de France shower cap, but we didn’t mind so much knowing we were in for special treatment on Monday. The day ended perfectly with Surinaamse broodjes, little Surinamese sandwiches from Wok Express or something like that. I think they deserve their own post. They’re that good.

Sebastian Lang with Omega Pharma - Lotto during the 2010 Tour de France Prologue in Rotterdam, NL.

Sebastian Lang with Omega Pharma – Lotto. Check out all the spray kicking up from his tires.

**For more photos, check out Bela Lumo’s Facebook page! I’m regularly updating the albums there. And as usual, please contact me directly if you’re interested in using my photos or purchasing any prints. Thanks!** 
