The Tour de France in Brussels | Brussels Sports Photographer

Now that the Tour is in its final week, the first stage of the race seems like ages ago. At the arrival in Brussels, we hung out by the team buses so we’d see the cyclists after the race. There was of course a huge crowd waiting by the Radio Shack bus, but I doubt they got to see Lance any more than everyone else he rode past. We waited by the Saxo Bank bus, with hopes of seeing the Schleck brothers. They slipped into the buses right away, so I didn’t see them ride past. A little later, Fränk popped his head out to speak with the press for a minute. Poor Fränk had to drop out after stage 3 due to a broken clavicle, but Andy is still going strong and had the maillot jaune for several stages. I didn’t love my photos from this day, but I got a couple that I’m happy with.

Frank Schleck speaking with the press from the team bus.

Fränk Schleck speaking with the press from the team bus.

David Millar and Mark Cavendish in Brussels at the end of stage 1.

David Millar and Mark Cavendish in Brussels at the end of stage 1.

