Dog sled racing – Québec City, QC

I missed most of the winter carnival in Québec this year thanks to a nasty cold, but luckily I was able to make it to the dog sled race which was at the top of my list. I have always found dog sleds interesting, yet have never had the opportunity to see them in action until our recent move to the Great White North. The dog sled race was one of the first events to kick off the carnival this year, and it did not disappoint. The course looped through Vieux Québec and up Grande Allée, so I suppose this was probably pretty tame compared to races in other parts of the world, but it gave spectators a chance to really see the action up close. And the dogs! They make the best faces when they run and they look like they’re really enjoying themselves. Next weekend we’ll get even closer to the action when we try out dog sledding ourselves. I can’t wait!

Dog sled racing in Quebec

Dog sled racing in Quebec

Dog sled racing in Quebec

For more photos of the race, check out the Bela Lumo Photography facebook page.

 

