The Lonely Marine Iguana

When staying on Isla Isabela in the Galapagos, I took a walk at sunrise one morning on Playa Grande and ran into this little dude. Marine iguanas spend mornings feeding on algae in the sea and afternoons on land, sunning themselves and expelling salt through their nostrils with little sneezes. He was the only one in sight, so I guess he was trying to get a head start on the others. As with most of the fauna in the Galapagos, he was completely uninterested and unfazed by my presence. After giving me the once over with a beady, black eye, he sneezed and continued on down the beach.

a lone marine iguana on the beach

**For more photos, check out Bela Lumo’s Facebook page! I’m regularly updating the albums there. And as usual, please contact me directly if you’re interested in using my photos or purchasing any prints. Thanks!**

