Hiking Québec: Les Cascades – Le Parc National de la Jacques Cartier

I went for a mid-week hike with a friend and since we were both not feeling up to a big challenge, we chose Les Cascades. It is a very pleasant 4 kilometer loop and as always, I found a lot of interesting things to look at along the trail. I have loved being such a frequent visitor to this park, and being able to notice the changes in the forest as the summer progresses. The previous week’s high temperatures plus no rain gave us a respite from the flies and mosquitoes, but I could tell the forest was drier than usual. We followed a small stream for a bit before climbing up a little higher for a nice view of the neighboring hillsides. Taking our time, stopping often and all along having a good chat, the hike took us probably an hour and a half or so. I would definitely like to come back in the winter and try this one on snowshoes.

The trail begins on the west side of the Jacques Cartier.

Can anyone tell me what this is?

**For more photos, check out Bela Lumo’s photostream on flickr or “like” Bela Lumo Photography on Facebook. I’m regularly updating the albums there. And as usual, please contact me directly if you’re interested in using my photos or purchasing any prints. Thanks!** 
