Hiking Québec: La Tourbière – Parc National de la Jacques Cartier

This short little hike packs in quite a lot of diversity in a very manageable 3 kilometer loop. The trail took us through gorgeous stands of yellow birch as well as damp peat bogs where we saw several beaver dams. It was a strange sensation to walk on such spongy ground – almost like walking on carpet. Sadly, we didn’t see any beavers. I’m not sure when the best time is to see them, so if anyone can enlighten me, please leave a comment! The weather was not on our side that afternoon, and we got caught in a downpour halfway through. I’d like to try it again sometime in sunnier weather.

We heard a lot of frogs on this trail, and finally spotted one.

Part of a beaver dam.

**For more photos, check out Bela Lumo’s photostream on flickr or “like” Bela Lumo Photography on Facebook. I’m regularly updating the albums there. And as usual, please contact me directly if you’re interested in using my photos or purchasing any prints. Thanks!** 
