A Visit to the Chicago Bean

After I parted ways with Mathieu on Sunday morning, he to run 26.2 miles, and I to crisscross the city by foot, bus and L hoping to catch a glimpse of him doing so, I wandered over to The Bean. Officially known as Cloud Gate, this sculpture is said to have been inspired by liquid mercury. As it was still very, very early, I was lucky to have the sculpture pretty much to myself and I admired it from every angle for a good while. The reflection of the city skyline changes and distorts in fascinating ways, while the view from underneath is equally mesmerizing. It’s quite a popular spot for tourists, so I felt lucky to spend a peaceful moment with this new Chicago landmark.

I couldn’t get this one person to move out of the way.

Inside the Bean is…another bean.

**For more photos, check out Bela Lumo’s photostream on flickr or “like” Bela Lumo Photography on Facebook. I’m regularly updating the albums there. And as usual, please contact me directly if you’re interested in using my photos or purchasing any prints. Thanks!** 
