Pond Hockey on Lac Beauport, Québec

Pond hockey (sometimes called shinny) is a new discovery for me, and in case it is for you too, it’s just what it sounds like – hockey played on a pond or other natural body of frozen water. Also, the rinks are smaller, the goals are lower and the players spend more time playing and less time fighting. If it’s not already obvious, I know very little about any kind of hockey, but living in Québec, it’s hard to avoid (see also, poutine). Recently, we’ve found ourselves actively watching it, instead of just sort of seeing it in our peripheral vision. Perhaps we’re integrating more than we thought?

In an attempt to participate in winter as much as possible, we decided to check out a pond hockey tournament in early February. I have to admit, I really enjoyed watching this more relaxed version of the national sport! I guess it really shouldn’t have come as much of a surprise because I love nothing better than being up close to the action at sporting events. Add in a gorgeous sunny day and the picturesque backdrop of Lac Beauport and we had all the elements for a fun weekend outing.

Pond Hockey Québec

I’m always amazed that they stay upright on those things.

Pond Hockey Quebec

Pond Hockey Québec

Pond Hockey Québec

Pond Hockey Québec

Pond Hockey Québec

Supporters staying warm between matches.

**For more photos, check out Bela Lumo’s photostream on flickr or “like” Bela Lumo Photography on Facebook. I’m regularly updating the albums there. And as usual, please contact me directly if you’re interested in using my photos or purchasing any prints. Thanks!** 
