The icing on the cake – Paris in the snow

Paris is a gorgeous city on a regular day, but add to it a fresh blanket of snow and it’s just like icing on a cake. Not only does the snow look beautiful sprinkled over the Haussmannian rooftops and gothic spires, but there is a different energy in the air. Maybe I’m imagining it, but people seem lighter and happier, as if the unusual circumstances have reminded them of the beauty of their surroundings.

I was lucky to visit Paris in January during one of the rare occasions that the snow actually lasted more than a day. Coming from the depths of winter in Québec, I was looking forward to a break from wearing snow boots and my heavy coat, so I gambled and left them at home. I could not have been more wrong! Not only did the snow stick, but it snowed for 3 entire days – heavily. If I had been anywhere else, I probably would have stayed inside, but the beauty of the city lured me out to explore. How could I resist?

Paris under snow

Paris under snowParis under snow

Paris under snow

Paris under snow

**For more photos, check out Bela Lumo’s photostream on flickr or “like” Bela Lumo Photography on Facebook. I’m regularly updating the albums there. And as usual, please contact me directly if you’re interested in using my photos or purchasing any prints. Thanks!** 
